top of page

name peice

StartFragment

Indalayah Yasmeen Wilson

Ms. Yeganegi

World literature

August 29, 2016

It’s pronounced…

Hello my name is Indalayah Yasmeen Wilson most known by my nickname Indy. Once I’ve started high school and a little bit of eighth grade I’ve been

hearing teachers and friends call me by Indalayah.my mom got my name from a coworker she met at work. She told me that she just loved the name

Indalayah. My mom also told me that she asked her coworker if it was ok if she named me after her and wanted to make sure if it was okay because she

really liked the name. My mom’s coworker was honored to have someone name their name child after their name. Over time teachers have

mispronounced my name and have called me n-dal-yah or n-da-lie-yah. It has been very annoying and frustrating. I’m like it’s not that hard to pronounce a

name lol, but I kindly continue to correct them. But overtime teachers have been saying my name correctly. My first name is originally spelled endelea it is

a Swahili name and it means become famous. It is very cool to have an African name. I would never change my name when I was younger I thought about

but I know now I just love my name. My name is unique, beautiful, and barely anyone has it and that is just wonderful lol. My middle name is Yasmeen. I

never knew that it was Persian, Iranian, and Arabic. Yasmeen means jasmine flower it is pretty cool to have a diversity of names.

EndFragment


bottom of page